TSL Foundation affirms commitment to education


The Tan Siu Lin Foundation has awarded $1,000 scholarships to eight graduating high school students from the Public School System.

This marks the second year of their annual “Public High School Citizenship Award,” which is open to all CNMI public high schools.

“On behalf of the Tan Siu Lin Foundation and Tan Holdings, I would like to thank all the PSS students who submitted their application for this year’s awards,” TSL Foundation’s Merlie Tolentino said.

With this award, Tolentino said, they hope to acknowledge students who have shown outstanding work and commitment to their community through school, community service, and charitable or philanthropic programs.

“We hope this gives students more incentive to excel not only in their studies, but to also be active, vibrant, and generous members of our island community,” Tolentino told Saipan Tribune.

Education Commissioner Dr. Rita Sablan said PSS is grateful for their partnership with the TSL Foundation and for their commitment in recognizing the leadership qualities of our students.

“This award provides our students the financial support to pursue their college aspirations,” the education chief told Saipan Tribune.

From Saipan Southern High School, scholarships were awarded to Ha Noul “Sky” Lee and Joann M. Bandales. From Marianas High School, scholarships went to Noemi A. Caacbay and Maria Theresa D. Dizon.

For Kagman High School, scholarships went to Mebric S. Navisaga and Rugina Flores Olupomar. Scholarships for Dr. Rita Hocog Inos Jr./Sr. High School went to Neri Bles B. Jingco and Elvie Anria Mesngon.

This article was originally authored by Dennis B. Chan of the Saipan Tribune and published on June 23rd, 2015. All rights, recognition and acknowledgment are belong to the author and the Saipan Tribune.